The Gallagher Girls Series by Ally Carter

Of all the Young Adult books I have read, the Gallagher Girls series really stands out.The series focuses on the life Cammie Morgan, who attends Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women. Cammie is not a typical teenage high school student and Gallagher Academy is not a typical school. Cammie Morgan is a spy, and The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is where she receives her training.

In some ways Cammie does have to deal with the same issues as typical teenage girls. One of these issues is boys. For any teenage girl, dealing with boys is a baffling and confusing thing. Being a spy does not make this any easier. Spy school can prepare you for protecting government secrets; spy school does not prepare you for first dates. Luckily Cammie does not have to unriddle how to behave around teenage boys all by herself. Bex and Liz, fellow Gallagher Girls, provide a great support system for her as she navigates the tricky world of boys.

The original nature of this story makes it such a fantastic read. The author is able to take an ordinary story–a teenage girl going to high school–and make it different and interesting. You aren’t just reading a story of boy meets girl. This is a story of a girl who meets a boy, but she has to make sure the boy isn’t using her to find out about her top secret school. You won’t want to put this book down as you read all of the original twists and turns.

The series is written by Ally Carter, and consists of four books. Three of the books, I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You, Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy, and Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover have been released. The fourth book, Only the Good Spy Young, is due to be released June 15th.

6 responses to “The Gallagher Girls Series by Ally Carter

  1. Ohhh sounds fun, what age range would you say they were appropriate for? They sound like books Koti would love but her reading ability so out ages her that I have to be careful. Boy, kisses, dates are ok but she isnt ready for sex scenes yet…

    • You’ve mentioned another reason I love these books! I’ve been reading so many YA books that have drinking/drugs/sex in them. While this is often appropriate for the subject of the story, as is the case with “Before I Fall”, I wouldn’t want my 10-13 year old (imaginary) daughter reading that book. While the story does have kissing/dating stuff in it, the story is much more appropriate for a “tween.” While I’d imagine as Cammie gets older the boy interaction may get more serious, right now I would say it would be a great read for your daughter!

  2. Thanks, I am always glad to find books we both can read that wont bore me but wont be content above her age (sucky thing about having a 9.5 year old who reads on a high school level is finding material for her). I am putting 2 copies on hold at the library for us 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2010 Books « IDK my BFF books

  4. Pingback: Great Book Recommendations | IDK my BFF books

Leave a Reply

