Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

As someone who has devoured John Green’s first four stories, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on his latest creation, Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I had previously checked out two of David Levithan’s stories, Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List, and enjoyed both. I knew the collaboration of the two great authors would be a must-read.

From Goodreads.com

Will Grayson book coverOne cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

Hilarious, poignant, and deeply insightful, John Green and David Levithan’s collaborative novel is brimming with a double helping of the heart and humor that have won both them legions of faithful fans.

This book focuses on the story of two teenagers, both named Will Grayson. Each author writes from the point of view of a Will Grayson, alternating narration and characters as the story goes on. Both authors are able to describe this time in a teenager’s life perfectly. They artfully communicate the wide range of feelings teenagers have during these years. The authors capture these complex relationships –platonic and romantic– realistically. The characters they create are so true and believable that you can’t help but turn the pages to see what happens to them next.

The wonderful plot of this story made it hard for me to put the book down. It starts out as two characters in contrasting situations. The path they take to each other is very different compared to anything I’ve experienced, while still being something I found myself relating to. The main story of love is not only something that affects teenagers, it affects everyone.

Review: I read a lot of young adult (YA) books. Often I read these books for purely entertainment purposes. Most of the YA books I read help me escape from my life for a bit, to an enjoyable place free of the every day stresses of an adult. In the most wonderful way possible, Will Grayson, Will Grayson is not that type of YA book. All around an amazing book that is a must-read.

I also wanted to take this opportunity to link to my friend Melissa’s blog. She also recently read this book and had some great insight to share on the topic of love. I hope you enjoy the post as much as I did!

One response to “Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

  1. Pingback: 2010 Books « IDK my BFF books

Leave a Reply

