Everything Christmas by David Bordon, Tom Winters

I am someone who firmly believes that Christmas celebration should not start until the day after (American) Thanksgiving. So why am I reviewing a Christmas book in October? I won Everything Christmas as a goodreads giveaway and wanted to review it ASAP.

From goodreads.com

Book Cover of Everything Christmas by David Bordon & Tom WintersOpening this book is like opening a box full of Christmas cheer.

Christmas is a time of celebration and wonder, a time to embrace longstanding traditions and establish new ones. It’s a time for meals made of memories and heartwarming stories shared around the fireplace. It’s a time for worship, reflection, and remembrance of God’s greatest gift.

Everything Christmas brings all the best ideas for the holiday season together in one volume. In this book, you’ll find your favorite classic Christmas stories and a few new ones destined to join them. You’ll discover the most delectable holiday recipes, enjoy the words to treasured hymns and carols, be encouraged by inspirational Christmas poems, and find renewed joy in the Nativity story. From decoration ideas to Christmas trivia and humor – it’s all here!

Growing up, Christmastime was a big celebration for my family. My younger sister and I spent the day after Thanksgiving decorating our parents house for Christmas. This was a massive all-day effort. The Christmas festivity continued on throughout the holiday season. These experiences have made me realize how important Christmas traditions are.

My husband and I will soon be starting our own family. This is a chance for us to start our own holiday rituals. We will borrow from our childhood for some customs, while also trying to incorporate new ones. I found Everything Christmas was a great place to start looking for new traditions.

It was impossible to read this book and not start to feel some holiday spirit. This book is set up to be used as an Advent Calendar. There are 24 chapters in this book, one for each day leading up to Christmas. The chapters each center on things such as holiday recipes, crafts, carols, poems, and holiday stories. The stories were so enjoyable that I had a hard time putting the book down.

The book served as both entertainment and a great Christmas resource. In its pages are the words to most of the classic Christmas Carols, as well as stories of their origins. If you are looking for a recipe for your holiday table, this book has you covered. The craft ideas had me itching for a trip to my local Michael’s to pick up supplies. After reading I was left wishing it was December!

Review: I was a bit uncertain about this book when I won it, but am now very glad I had the opportunity to read it. I enjoyed many of the stories, poems, and jokes found in its pages. My husband and I were inspired by the recipes and plan on trying some for the upcoming holidays. Everything Christmas is the perfect book to put you in the holiday mood.

3 responses to “Everything Christmas by David Bordon, Tom Winters

  1. I am already starting to feel a little of the holiday pull, but I am trying to resist it until Thanksgiving weekend. I am so excited for you to be starting your own family and make your own new traditions as you mix his & yours from your childhoods to make new ones for baby girl .

    • I’ve been REALLY ready for Thanksgiving this year. (I wont’ lie… it’s mostly because I’m excited about the turkey and stuffing)

      I’m seeing all the cute baby “First Christmas” stuff and wishing I could buy it this year, but know that an almost 1 y-o will enjoy Christmas much more than a few day or week old.

  2. Pingback: 2010 Books | IDK my BFF books

Leave a Reply

