Books vs Movies

If forced to choose between reading a book or watching its movie adaptation, I will always choose the book for many reasons. The first has to do with the fact that a novel can be read at any pace. It can be savored leisurely, a few pages at a time, or devoured all at once. This is not true of films, which are usually best enjoyed all at once in two hour time blocks. The fact that you can re-read a passage in a paperback several times is another thing that appeals to me. Sometimes I do this to better understand what the author is trying to convey. Again, this is not something that can be done easily with motion pictures. A final thing I enjoy about books over movies is the fact I can use the authors words to develop the characters in my head. I do not have to accept the choices of a casting director to decide what someone looks or acts like.

In the past I have watched films based on a story I had previously read. I almost always end up enjoying the book version more. It is possible that this is a result of the extra time and budget constraints placed on films. Time constraints dictate that a movie be around 90 minutes long. In order for filmmakers to make this limit, they must cut out the smaller details found in a book. I often enjoy these little tidbits that we learn about the characters or story and miss them when they are cut. Budget restrictions placed on those in the film industry may dictate casting choices. In order to meet his budget, a director may decide not to include some smaller characters who don’t have a large impact on the plot of the story. If they don’t have to hire an actor, they don’t have to pay them. While these characters are not crucial to the plot development, I often enjoy their presence and miss them when they are cut.

My least favorite thing is when a movie ends in a completely different way than the story from which it is based. There have been many times that I have read a book that did not have the typical “happy” ending. Sometimes the girl wouldn’t get the guy. Imagine my surprise when I watch the movie and it ends with the girl and guy happily together. To me this is something that does not make a faithful movie adaptation. A change like this significantly alters the story.

Book Cover of Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin With all of that being said, I find it very odd that I am eagerly anticipating the movie release of Something Borrowed next year. This movie is based on the book of the same name by Emily Giffin. I adore this book. It is one of the books that I find myself absentmindedly picking up and not being able to put down. I have talked previously about her skill at depicting relationships, and this book is an excellent display of that ability. Even though you know the relationship between the characters of Dex and Rachel is a bad idea, you just can’t help that they work it out.

If anything, I would think my extreme love for this novel would make me less likely to want to see it. I usually hate seeing books I love ruined by movie adaptions. Some early images from the set have confirmed they have majorly altered the storyline of one of the characters. This would normally drive me insane, but has yet to bother me too much.

I think my lack of cynicism towards the screenplay is due to the author’s enthusiasm for the movie. Throughout the filming processes, she has posted frequent updates on her Facebook page. To me this demonstrates that she is excited about the movie and any changes to her original story. Personally I feel if the author is OK with changes made to his or her own words, I should also be OK with it. Hopefully this is the case and I enjoy the movie!

5 responses to “Books vs Movies

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Books vs Movies | IDK my BFF books -- Topsy.com

  2. Seeing how we met I would be crazy not to mention the HP books here. I just rewatched HBP this week. I hate the beginning with Harry at the station & flirting with that girl..the whole scene. But even though it isnt in the book I am more ok with the scene added at the Weasley home because JKR was ok with the addition. Funny how the author liking a change makes it more ok to us the reader/viewer.
    I too also like the books more than their movie counterparts most times. And when big plot altering things happen it bugs me. I refuse to see the movie My Sister’s Keeper because I heard how they totally changed the ending.

    • My original post on this topic had a whole bunch of HP movie vs. book stuff. But then I found myself bitterly talking about how much I hate Steve Kloves and had to cut it out.

      There are SO MANY movies I won’t see because I’ve heard they change the end! Nanny Diaries, P.S. I Love You, and The Devil Wears Prada. Movies just can’t have atypical endings. For some reason they need to be happy. It drives me insane!!!

  3. I didn’t know this was going to be made into a movie! I hope it doesn’t suck!

Leave a Reply

