Harry Potter Film Wizardry by Brian Sibley

Next up for review is a book I think my Harry Potter friends would enjoy!

From goodreads.com

Harry Potter Film Wizardry Book Cover by Brian SibleyImmerse yourself in the world of the spectacular Harry Potter film series, and learn why Yule Ball ice sculptures never melt, where Galleons, Sickles, and Knuts are really “minted,” how to get a Hippogriff to work with actors, the inspiration behind Hogwarts castle, and why Dementors move the way they do. Written and designed in collation with the cast and crew that brought J. K. Rowling’s celebrated novels to the silver screen, Harry Potter: Film Wizardry delivers an enchanting interactive experience, transporting readers to the wizarding world by sharing film-making secrets, unpublished photography and artwork, and exclusive stories from the stars. Full of removable facsimile reproductions of props and paper ephemera from the movies, this collectible volume offers a privileged look at the Harry Potter films and the talented group of Muggles that has made true movie magic.

I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I have read each book numerous times. I own all of the movies, and have watched them several times each. I check my favorite Harry Potter news site–The Leaky Cauldron–daily for all the latest stories on the fandom. This led me to believe that I knew a good deal about the behind-the-scenes going on in the movies. Harry Potter Film Wizardry quickly made me realize I was wrong.

A page from Harry Potter Film Wizardry

The first thing I noticed when opening the book was the amazing graphics. Flipping through the pages leads to many beautiful eye-catching pictures, text, and maps. Upon opening the book, I immediately flipped through it and soaked in all the images. This allowed me to check out the book’s layout. Each section represents a different Harry Potter movie. In each chapter you will find “A Production Designer’s Notebook and Producer’s Diary,” with sections that describe various characters, locations, or creatures from that movie.

A page from Harry Potter Film Wizardry

A page from Harry Potter Film Wizardry

A great example of the layout can be see when looking at the chapter which discuses Goblet of Fire. This section contains information on the Quidditch World Cup (QWC), Miranda Richardson’s portrayal of Rita Skeeter, and the Dark Mark. The pages containing information about the QWC contain an extra pull-out section; something that can be found throughout the book. In this case the bonus material is a program from the Quibbler. Other extras include a Weasley’s Wizarding Wheezes product catalog and Marauder’s Map.
 

Review: I found this book to be a readable version of the DVD extras. The format allowed me to take in the images and text at a leisurely pace. The text held details that even I–a rabid Harry Potter fan–didn’t know. I thought this book was very informative and entertaining. I recommend it as a must-read for fans of the Harry Potter books and movies.

2 responses to “Harry Potter Film Wizardry by Brian Sibley

  1. Pingback: 2010 Books | IDK my BFF books

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Harry Potter Film Wizardry by Brian Sibley | IDK my BFF books -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

